Family tree of the Targaryen family from Aegon I to Daenerys

This Monday, August 22, the series finally premieres The House of the Dragon on HBO Max that is centered on the history of the house Targayen. The series is based on the book fire and blood George RR Martin in which tells the story of this house and what its characters were. The House of the Dragon is a prequel to the famous Game of Thrones. We are going to explain the family tree of the Targaryen family from Aegon I to Daenerys

The House of Targayens begins with King Aegon I Targaryen, known as Aegon the Conqueror. This king was assassinated and therefore it was necessary that one of his descendants try to occupy the throne.


The origin of the Targayens

The Targaryens They led the longest reign in the history of Westeros, chaining successors for nearly 300 years to the coveted Iron Throne.. A dynasty that stopped with the rebellion of Robert Baratheon, who dethroned the mad king Aerys II, and who returned to this house with Daenerys for a short time until she was killed by Jon Snow, her nephew.

Keep in mind that in the Targayen house to maintain the pure blood of the Valyria, its members intermarried. When the eldest of the Targaryens did not sire descendants, the king chose another sister. Therefore, in this family there were polygamous marriages.

targayen tree

targayen tree


The family tree of the Targaryen family

Aegon Targaryen the Conqueror was the conqueror of the Seven Kingdoms and founder of the Targaryen dynasty that ruled Westeros for almost 300 years. He is the beginning of this family tree of the Targaryen family that goes from Aegon to Daenerys. His sisters were Rhaenys and Visenya and his sons Aenys and Maegor

Aenys Targaryen was the second king to sit on the Iron Throne, ruling between AD 37 and 42. His children were Aegon, Jaehaerys, Alysanne, and Viserys.

Maegor Targaryen became King of the Seven Kingdoms between AD 42 and 48. He was nicknamed Maegor the Cruel and died without issue.
Jaehaerys Targaryen was nicknamed the Conciliator and the Old King and was King of the Seven Kingdoms between 48 and 103 AD He married his sister Alysanne and had 13 children, although curiously his successor ends up being his grandson Viserys.

Viserys Targaryen, who is the protagonist of The House of the Dragon and was the eldest son of Prince Baelon Targaryen and his sister-wife, Princess Alyssa Targaryen. He had two brothers, Daemon and Aegon. He succeeded his grandfather, King Jaehaerys I, and became King of the Seven Kingdoms between 103 and 129 AD After the civil war Dance with Dragons Daemon, his son Aegon and Rhaenyra die. and finally Aegon III, from Rhaenyra’s second marriage, ascends the throne.

Aegon III Targaryen son of Rhaenyra’s second marriage. His son Daeron and his brother Baelor succeeded him. As he dies he ends up ascending to Viserys, brother of Aegon III, although his reign is short lived.

Aegon IV Targaryen who had a son Daeron and several bastards. For that reason the rebellion of the bastards took place from which the next king Daeron Targaryen emerges victorious father of Aerys, who also reigned, and grandfather of Maekar Targaryen.

Aegon V the Unlikely was fourth in the line of succession and had only one son Jaehaerys II Targaryen. His son Aerys II the Mad King, was the end of the dynasty and had three children: Rhaegar, Viserys and Daenerys.

Queen Daenerys Targaryen, also called the Mother of Dragons, was the youngest daughter of King Aerys II Targaryen and his sister-wife, Queen Rhaella. After the Usurper’s War, during which her parents and her older brother Rhaegar were killed, she and her brother Viserys lived in exile in various free cities.

The article is in Spanish

Tags: Family tree Targaryen family Aegon Daenerys

NEXT The creators of Disco Elysium announce the dissolution of part of the studio; what about the sequel?